Battle of the Padillas: Uncle Robin is MMFF 2013 Best Actor but Nephew Daniel is bigger boxoffice draw

My Little Bossings raked in an estimated P46 million across the nation on opening day, making it the number one movie among eight entries in the 39th Metro Manila Film Festival up to this day.


Robin Padilla ecstatic of his Best Actor win

Coming in second is Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy (starring Vice Ganda) which is just a few million pesos away in gross earnings. Pagpag, Siyam Na Buhay comes in third, while Kimmy Dora (Ang Kiyemeng Prequel) is fourth.

Although the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) did not disclose the rankings of the bottom four, it is touted that 10000 Hours (the awarded Best Picture) is 5th, Boy Golden: Shoot To Kill (The Arturo Porcuna Story) is 6th, Pedro Calungsod: Batang Martir is 7th and Kaleidoscope World is at the tailend.


Daniel Padilla is Male Star of the Night. His movie with Kathryn Bernardo wins Youth Choice Award and Best Make-Up

Total gross as of December 31, 2013 is P597 million, according to MMDA. The festival runs until January 7, 2014. The Top 4 may go on extended run until moviegoers would line up for Hollywood blockbusters as opening salvo for 2014.


Official posters of the 8 MMFF 2013 entries

The Daniel Padilla-Kathryn Bernardo horror movie was said to have surpassed the P100 million mark as of presstime, per Star Cinema insiders, making Pagpag winning over Robin Padilla’s 10000 Hours in theater receipts. Once himself a boxoffice king, the uncle yielded to the nephew’s drawing power, despite Robin’s win as Best Actor and his movie as Best Picture.

Those who have seen 10000 Hours agree that it is indeed the best movie in this year’s festival, but lacking in substance compared to the Best Picture winners in previous years. Its 14 wins (including Best Director for Joyce Bernal) did not help in propelling the movie to a higher boxoffice rank.


Ryzza Mae Dizon is escorted by co-star Bimby Yap for her Best Child Performer award

There’s also an issue on the Best Actress category, that Eugene Domingo, with her multiple characterizations, is better than Maricel Soriano who won the award. When she got her Female Star of the Night trophy and prize, Eugene asked in her acceptance speech if that was already her award for the evening.


Female Star of the Night Eugene Domingo

Boy Golden supporters could not accept that all it could win was Best Float. Some pointed out that the story made a detour, because Boy Golden’s sister Baby Porcuna was not actually killed but became Leroy Salvador‘s wife and bore Deborah Sun (who has a cameo role in the movie).

Moviegoers are annoyed by the commercialism of the entries (where products the stars endorse are unabashedly mentioned or shown in scenes) and hope that in the next festival or in the coming years, movies will again be like during the ’70s and ’80s when the period was called the Golden Age of Philippine Cinema.

Complete list of winners:

Best Picture – 10,000 Hours
2nd Best Picture – Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
3rd Best Picture – My Little Bossings
Best Director – Joyce Bernal – 10,000 Hours
Best Actress – Maricel Soriano – Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
Best Actor – Robin Padilla – 10,000 Hours
Best Supporting Actress – Aiza Seguerra – My Little Bossings
Best Supporting Actor – Pen Medina – 10,000 Hours
Best Child Performer – Ryzza Mae Dizon – My Little Bossings
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award – 10,000 Hours
Most Gender-Sensitive Film – Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
FPJ Memorial Award of Excellence – 10,000 Hours
Best Screenplay – Ryllah Epifania Berico – 10,000 Hours
Best Original Story – Neil Arce, Bela Padilla, Peter Serrano and Boy 2 Quizon – 10,000 Hours
Best Editing – Marya Ignacio – 10,000 Hours
Best Cinematography – Marissa Floriendo – 10,000 Hours
Best Production Design – Joey Luna – 10,000 Hours
Best Visual Effects – Central Digital – 10,000 Hours
Best Make-up – Leslie Lucero – Pagpag, Siyam Na Buhay
Best Theme Song –  My Little Bossings – Jan K. Ilacad
Best Musical Score – Teresa Barrozo – 10,000 Hours
Best Sound Recording – Emmanuel Clemente – 10,000 Hours
Best Float – Boy Golden: Shoot To Kill (The Arturo Porcuna Story)
Youth Choice Award – Pagpag, Siyam Na Buhay

Best Picture (Full-Length) – Dukit
Special Jury Prize (Full-Length) – Mga Anino Ng Kahapon
Best Director – Armando Lao – Dukit
Best Actress – Agot Isidro – Mga Anino Ng Kahapon
Best Actor – Wilfredo Layug, Bambalito Lacap and Bor Ocampo – Dukit (triple tie)
Most Gender-Sensitive Film (Full-Length) – Island Dreams
Best Picture (Animation) – Kaleh and Mbaki by Dennis Sebastian
Special Jury Prize (Animation) – Ang Lalong Ni Kulakog by Omar Aguilar
Best Picture (Student Short) – Ang Paglisan – De La Salle Lipa
Special Jury Prize (Student Short) – ‘#NoFilter’ by Luigi Rosario
Most Gender-Sensitive Film (Student Short) – Hintayin Mo Sa Seq. 24 by Jezreel Reyes

Special Recognition Award – Ronnie Ricketts, Chairman of the Optical Media Board (OMB)
Male Star of the Night – Daniel Padilla
Female Star of the Night – Eugene Domingo

New rules have been implemented in this year’s festival, following the disturbance marring the orderliness of past awarding ceremonies, Per MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino,  there’s a corresponding penalty for artists who violate these rules.

Walkouts, boycotts, crying at the backstage are no longer tolerated, Tolentino said.

A fine of P150,000 is slapped on any participating executive producer who fails to attend the Awards Night. Even lead stars who aren’t awardees should be present to avoid the P25,000 penalty.

On the other hand, parts of the cash prizes for awardees will be forfeited should they fail to attend the ceremony.

Those who stage a walkout or cause any disturbance during the occasion caused by the group or delegation led by the participating producer or any responsible member of his/her group will incur a penalty of P300,000 for the producers and P25,000 for the actors. They’re also disqualified from the succeeding festivals.

Awardees joining the walkout or delegation causing the said disturbance will no longer receive their awards.

Same rules apply to the Parade of Stars that kick off the MMFF.

Last year’s MMFF grossed P527 million as of January 2, 2013 and ended with a total earnings of P767.8 million.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s