Retards comment puts Caleb Johnson’s fate in the balance

After last week’s performance, American Idol XIII resident rocker Caleb Johnson went down from being the strongest contender to the most voted contestant to go home this week.

Image

Caleb Johnson in different moods

It’s not because of his not-so-sterling rendition of Aerosmith’s I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing but his remarks of fans who spam his Twitter feeds of songs they want him to perform.

The worst thing is, which offended not a few of his supporters, he called those who flood requests as retards.

Click link to view interview http://youtu.be/X0kaS90CBqA

Although the tone of Caleb’s voice was not on the warpath, viewers were astonished at what came out of his mouth.

“Twitter gives access to a bunch of retards to talk to me. I don’t really enjoy having to see somebody telling me what song I have to sing. I think at this point of the competition, I can pick and choose my own songs and represent me. I don’t need 10,000 people saying, ‘You should sing this, you should sing that. Listen to me!’ Fortunately, guys, I’m going to listen to myself, whether you like it or not.”

Viewers took to Twitter to express their disgust.

“I don’t appreciate being called a retard. I was a fan who occasionally wanted you to sing certain songs. WAS. Bye” – Kyle Brooks.

“Huge fan Caleb but having an autistic brother I lost a lot of respect for you with the ‘retard’ comment. Not cool, bro.” – Sophia Rose Hagen

“as much as it pains me, I’m unfollowing @CalebPJohnson on twitter. I’ll need an apology before I debase myself enough to keep flwing him.” – doodette

Image

Touted by many as the best set of judges thus far: Keith Urban, Jennifer Lopez, Harry Connick Jr.

On May 4, Caleb apologized thru his Facebook official fan page, but not on Twitter.

“For the record that juvenile comment I made in the interview was not directed towards my fans but to the wackos that send hundreds of hate messages a day to me! You guys are amazing and I cannot thank you enough for your support. Sorry if it offended anybody it was the wrong choice of words. Also I greatly appreciate it when you guys give me song suggestions but it gets really overwhelming at the volume it comes in so please understand! Rock on!:)”

Image

Host Ryan Seacrest: Idol through the years

Hardcore fans defended him but others pointed out his apology was out of sync, as he called those asking him to perform songs he did not like as retards in the interview, but said on Facebook he meant it for wackos that send him hate messages.

In the idolbloglive.com American Idol Top 4 Pre-Performance Poll Monday, Caleb topped it with 29.54% as against Jena Irene 26.31%, Alex Preston 24.46% and Jessica Meuse 19.69%.

The poll is “to pick who you feel will go home BEFORE hearing the Top 4 sing on Wednesday 5/7/14.”

Image

Who will be American Idol 2014?

Viewers are excited who among the Top 4—Caleb, Alex, Jena or Jessica—can tug their heart strings the most with this week’s theme “Breakups and Makeups.”

Whether Caleb Johnson can sail through the finals with his candidness or that will spell doom for him will be known on Thursday.

Photos from http://www.americanidol.com

2 thoughts on “Retards comment puts Caleb Johnson’s fate in the balance

  1. If you look now, Jena has the most votes to go home which means nothing because it is not that many people voting for this anyways!

  2. Pingback: Feelin'Free | Rockin’ Caleb Johnson crowned American Idol 2014; Fil-Am Malaya Watson privileged to sing ‘All Of Me’ with no less than John Legend

Leave a Reply

