MAPW 2014 3rd Runner-Up Miss Philippines Hillarie Parungao home, shares insight on controversies hounding pageant

Miss Philippines Hillarie Danielle Parungao is home and posted on Facebook her insight on the controversies hounding the recently concluded Miss Asia Pacific World 2014 pageant held in Seoul, Korea where she ended 3rd Runner-Up to Miss Myanmar May Myat Noe.

Image

Miss Asia Pacific World Philippines 2014 Hillarie Danielle Ang Parungao in her National Costume

First Runner-Up was Miss Korea, 2nd Runner-Up was Miss Macau, Miss India was 4th Runner-Up, Miss Singapore was 5th Runner-Up and Miss Thailand was 6th Runner-Up.

Miss Philippines also won the Grand National Costume Award.

(See related stories Miss Myanmar is Miss Asia Pacific World 2014; Miss Philippines 3rd Runner-Up https://arloc888.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/miss-myanmar-is-miss-asia-pacific-world-2014-miss-philippines-3rd-runner-up/ and Miss Philippines Hillarie Danielle Parungao top pick to win Miss Asia Pacific World 2014 crown in Korea https://arloc888.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/miss-philippines-hillarie-danielle-parungao-top-pick-to-win-miss-asia-pacific-world-2014-crown-in-korea/)

iImage

MAPW 2014 and the Runners-Up. Extreme right is 3rd Runner-Up Miss Philippines Hillarie Parungao

In her post, Hillarie said it’s time to move forward and she’d be glad to mentor other candidates if they want to join said pageant someday.

“Obviously, I was disappointed I didn’t win the crown. Initially it was a shock to me. Indeed this pageant is an example of contests that is debated fiercely by fans, fought well by candidates, and the final results are questioned by the popular will.

“But after talking to Lawrence Choi, it is time to move forward and look at different directions. My conversation with Lawrence Choi was enlightening, and gave me a better understanding of international pageants. He kept repeating that this is my first international pageant, and that there are so many things I didn’t know. Because of his counsel, I felt like a winner in a way: I won a lot of information that will only help me become stronger, knowledgeable, and improve my craft. I hope that this information can help me mentor other candidates especially if they want to join this pageant someday.

“When I left the country to compete in this international pageant, my promise is to make you all proud. I did not win the crown, but I hope you realize that I kept my promise. I hope I did not disappoint, and made you feel proud that I represented the country well. Let me say how thankful I am to the many people who supported and believed in me. As I try to fulfill my remaining days as Ms. Asia Pacific World Philippines 2014, please stay there with your love, prayers and support.

“‘The successful man will profit from his mistakes and try again in a different way.’”

Image

Miss Asia Pacific World 2014 May Myat Noe of Myanmar with !st Runner-Up Miss Korea and 2nd Runner-Up Miss Macau

Jess, a reader of this blog and himself a WordPress blogger, commented on the article Controversy hounds Miss Asia Pacific World anew https://arloc888.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/controversy-hounds-miss-asia-pacific-world-anew/

“I was there. It was a big joke. I had tickets & table no. obtained weeks before. As I arrived at the venue, a local guy was going around trying to sell tickets to the event. Went into the venue & shocker. Our table was occupied.Tried to get some answers but no one could help. Some guy told us to just take whatever seat available. Hey, there are 10 of us. Can’t split up the group. Then door gifts for patrons were given to locals only. Big joke of the day….some of them were dressed in shorts.
Anyway, we had to stand there for half of the event. Then it turned into an awards show for local artistes. No translations whatsoever. Then whole pageant was rushed. Even bigger joke, Miss Myanmar won. Yeah, we know. Results already printed days before. She needed the first prize badly…..acting lessons. What a fake!! So much more to comment but running out of space here! In short, worst rigged competition ever.”

Moving forward, let Myanmar savor its first-ever international beauty title and crown, however minor it may be.

Image

At Seoul Central Plaza

For the rest of the national pageants sending representatives to Miss Asia Pacific World, just use discretion.

Hillarie, on the other hand, is still young, very articulate and many see her to clinch a major title for her country in the near future.

One thought on “MAPW 2014 3rd Runner-Up Miss Philippines Hillarie Parungao home, shares insight on controversies hounding pageant

  1. Pingback: Feelin'Free | Dethroned for bad attitude: Miss Myanmar loses MAPW 2014 title, runs off with crown; new queen chosen Nov. 8

Leave a Reply

